Que sera sera

meanderingIn response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Happy Wanderer.”

I have put the two travel styles to the test.  Here are my findings.

I can be a meticulous type,  it is in my nature to pay attention to the details.  I have planned trips where all the i’s are dotted and the t’s are crossed.  I check schedules for buses and ferries, then more buses.  I research my destination and make note of special interests, check entrance fees and hours,  perhaps even weather conditions, and anything else I might think of.  Unfortunately when I do it that way my nervous system becomes negatively involved and tension occurs because now I have a very tight and regimented itinerary to follow… what comes up for me is yuk, a little bit anyways.  It is stressful to deal with the idea of missing rides and sails that I have attached myself to. It all feels rigid.   I do not carry a cell phone nor wear a watch.  I have no GPS,  and my car is not digitalized.  I  like to rely on myself and play guessing games with myself like “what time might it be ” I am usually amazingly close… and sometimes if I haven’t a clue I simply decide that it doesn’t matter.

I have taken many trips using the other method.. I live on an island, so going anywhere involves a ferry.  I enjoy packing and getting myself ready in a comfortable and relaxed manner.  When I am ready I leave; sometimes I do not even know the time when I walk out the door.   On arrival  at the ferry terminal I learn which Ferry I will be on.  The surroundings are pleasant, I have a book,  and I am happier feeling that my little journey has a mind of it’s own and I am in harmony with my intention to get where I am going. In this unfettered state I am aware that my body is emanating something soft and kind. All parts of the travel is pleasant.  I am free and untethered, and that is how I would choose to feel most of the time.  It matters not when I get there. I so like to lay myself in the hands of circumstance and exercise trust.  That is my preference.   But, as they say, to each his own.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Que sera sera

  1. Pingback: The Happy Wanderer | My Kaleidoscope

  2. Love your “trusting” nature…
    For me it is always fresh and new and whispering “all is well.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thank you again….it’s exciting not knowing what ‘s around the corner.. it’s why I go to foreign places.

    Like

  4. I prefer the second way, which is more how Mexico seems to operate. I love your picture for your blog! It perfectly illustrates your name and tagline. Did you take it???

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Paul Hoban

    I so wish I could travel like that. You express your preference so lucidly and clearly; and in such relaxed prose that it makes me want to take off right now.
    A lovely piece of writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. To much planning is not my type of travel. I love spontaneity and little adventure involved. That’s the reason I never go for Make my trip. Com or other tourist packages.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You live on an island!? That’s neat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

