Finding my Myth’s

see worthyIn response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Your Life, the Book.”

When first I read the daily prompt I felt uninspired to write on it.  I’m embarrassed to admit that shortly after finishing a book, I seldom remember the author’s name, neither did I come up with a celebrity upon whom I would bequeath the task of writing my biography.

I asked myself repeatedly throughout the day who I might select to put my life into words.  I let go of the conundrum and gave myself over to the chores at hand.  Hours later I stood in a shop handling a lemon, deciding it’s fate, at once a name and face came to me.  Tingling shot across my shoulders and up my neck.. It was a  welcomed “A ha ” moment.

I don’t know how many of you are familiar with Joseph J. Campbell.  If you are not,  you would only benefit by looking into his noteworthy life and teachings.  Unfortunately for us he passed away in 1987.  I remember feeling a great loss when I heard of his death as I loved this man.  He was an American Mythologist, writer and lecturer.  One of his many quotes was “follow your bliss and the universe will open doors where there were only walls”.  His vast body of work was focused on the human experience.  His manner was gentle, his compassion was evident  and he gave of himself very generously.

I attempt to live an examined life,  “Know Thyself” is a favorite phrase.. My endless choice of experiences;  opportunities to gain awareness of who and what I am beyond the personality, beyond the body and beyond the ego mind so that I may  be in the world but not of the world.  On this journey I  become confused. It would be a monumental privilege to be granted an interpretation of my proccess through the eyes of the gifted Joseph Campbell.  If he would apply his wisdom of the power of myth to the nature of my relationships, my  rights of passage, define my decades and give me a deeper understanding of those parts of my life that are engaged in struggle, I would be eternally grateful. Joseph Campbell, I remain  forever a fan.

Leave a comment

May 2, 2015 · 4:11 am

Leave a Reply

