It Was What it Was.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Land of Confusion.”

Land of confusion is the perfect title for this post.  When I reflect on my early days at school, particularly my primary years,  confusion describes it well.  I realize now that I was a sensitive child and the challenge of being part of a large group was somewhat dismantling for me.  I  believe that all children are sensitive, little open channels that absorb the energies, frequencies, moods and stray matter that wafts in, out and around them.  As a child,  the feeling of being in a classroom with many other children all bouncing with internal and external buzz was something I did not understand and so much of my focus was wrapped up in trying to contain my  free floating and elastic solar plexis that I knew nothing about.  I was exceedingly shy and imagined that everyone could see what I was feeling.  I guess I felt transparent.  I do not remember broaching any subjects in my primary years… I know I was exposed to reading and writing,  but I do not think my mind was as engaged as my body in acquiring any skill at that age.  My greatest learning was adjusting my physical valves to sitting in a great room with a diverse assembly of my peers.

In my later  years, when subjects were dealt with in some depth,  I had eclectic tastes.  Oddly, the subject mattered not, but what made an impact in my pleasure and involvement with a subject was the teachers passion for it.  I can remember an eagerness for a favorite class,  that would dwindle and vanish when the instructor would make monotone presentations without inspiring any interest in the material.  By the same token I can recall being surprised by my passion for a subject as a result of a teacher that was completely fired up by it.  I remember Mrs. Boyce  who inspired me in her Literature class by having us look deeply into the words of our gifted writers.  I enjoyed History for the same reason.  Then there was the like of Mrs. Kelly,  a white haired n Celtic woman,  who spent most of our French class scolding various student and attempting to keep some semblance in the room.  She had a very strong Irish accent and listening to her spray out her French words was an endurance trip.  The conjugation of verbs was the absolute worst.

It appears that the subject mattered less than the ability of the  presenter to ignite an interest in learning.  That is more than likely a reflection of who I am and may differ greatly from those who are fuelled by their passion for a subject that they thirst to know more about.  Firstly, I am a people person and there in lies my fascination.  Secondly,  I did not develop a strong yearning for further education in the system that  I was exposed to.  I am keenly interested in truth and uncovering it.  Forgive me I have no desire to offend anyone,  but it is my opinion that our education system is not particularly focused on imparting truth but may be more concerned with indoctrination.

In closing,  as an adult I have developed a keen interest in archeology,  I have spent some years in Theater as an actress, which I loved  more than anything on an energetic level, and I have also painted, which I hope to go back to some day.  Currently,  I am involved with researching  Bio-engineering,  Genetically Modified foods, and what lies  behind the changes that are currently taking place globally.

I believe we need all of us to accept less of what we are being told and to truly begin to think for ourselves.

And,  now I feel as though I have spilled the beans.

Leave a comment

May 13, 2015 · 3:32 pm

Leave a Reply

