Where’s the Thrift Shop ?

it's in the closet

it’s in the closet

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man.”

Yes, I confess,  clothes matter to me.   It is one way we can express our individualism, and we who are a part of the western world do just that through our clothes, our cars, our trinkets, our dishes, our furniture.. our chattels have become an expression of who we are.  The books we read, the music we listen to;  I think we may seek definition through these outer things.

I am not sure I have a style,  if I do it is unconscious and a random look that has evolved by putting items of clothing together that I favor.  I do like to shop in thrift stores as it is more fun.  You never know what you might find.  Your choices are greater as your merchandise can cover several decades.  Some retro stuff is so cool !  I have found the most amazing items, of outstanding quality in mint condition.  It is a more creative way to shop and warrants some courage as your selection will be one of a kind;  you are not picking from a rack that contains one style in several colours and many sizes.  In a thrift store,  every single item on the rack is the only one like it.

I do not have much interest in looking “nice”…in fact I am not sure what that is.. but I think it is what I refer to as looking like my mother has dressed me. I like a little flair,  a unique look,  and I am particular about colour and print.  I do not own any printed shirts, blouses or tops of any sort.  but I may like a print on my skirt.  I notice clothes and will turn my head to follow someone who has what I call an attractive outfit and admire their taste. It pleases me to see a person who obviously has spent a moment or two putting themselves together.  Having said that,  I do have an adequate closet, of some funky items,  but the problem is getting me to wear them.  As it turns out,  I like to collect them, but have my favorites, and tend to wear them most of the time while other clothes items hang in my closet.

It has to do with lifestyle and a desire for comfort.  For example,  right now I am really enjoying a pair of red pants that fit great and are made of a high grade soft but thick cotton.  I feel really good in these and wear them a lot, while playing around with different tops.  I like to think of the red grounding me and balancing out my 1st chakra.

I love skirts and tell myself I will wear them more often,  but I am a pants girl and in line with Lauren Bacall and Kathryn Hepburn.

Most recently I have done a major purge on my closet and if I had not worn it in a long time, out it went no matter how much I liked it, ouch !.  The goal is to create a closet that realistically reflects my lifestyle.  That is a whole other matter.

I can squirrel around this subject,  but in the end,  clothes matter, how I look matters, but I will not forfeit comfort for any look or any occasion. If I have a formal event to go to and I am in complete comfort I usually have a wonderful time.  I am no longer willing to compromise myself and that makes me feel smart.

Years ago in theatre when developing a character I made my mantra  ” How do I Feel “….this helped me to refrain from becoming self conscious of how I looked.  This was helpful to me then and remains helpful to this very day.

3 Comments

May 15, 2015 · 5:17 am

3 responses to “Where’s the Thrift Shop ?

  1. I think we may be on the same wave-length & I like your mantra 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Actually, my closet looks pretty good!!! I love thrift stores as well. Enjoyed your post, as usual. Gotta sleep–I have to get up at 3 am to catch my flight!!! xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

