My Favorite Place to Be.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “To Sleep, Perchance to Dream.”

I love my bed… and  often during the day look forward to that moment when I get to crawl into it and rustle my feet about under the smooth cotton sheets.   I could spend hours and hours in my bed, surrounded by my books,  my journal,  my laptop, a cup of tea,  sitting propped up with my head resting on my favorite pillow.

I equally enjoy my sleep.  Sleeping to me is like being as comfortable as I can be but at the same time having an inner repose that does not compare to any other experience I may have in my body.  I am thrilled when I remember a dream… Dreams are very interesting to me and I twice belonged to a dream group that gathered twice a month for the purpose of sharing and  analyzing our dreams.  To this day I record my dreams,  and only wish I remembered all of them.  As far as I understand we dream every night,  unfortunately I consider myself lucky if I remember  one a week.  Dreams are amazing things… Anything can happen I a dream.  As a child I had nightmares on a regular basis,  and I remember wishing I did not dream at all.  More often than not there were scary or bad men in dark coats and black hats chasing me and I would try to escape them.  The most pleasurable,  inspiring and sentient dreams I have had  were my flying dreams.  I have not had one for a very long time,  but sometimes when I am in a state of lucid dreaming I place myself on top of a hill and run as fast as I can then jump up to catch an air current and attempt a lift off.  Only once did that method work .  My dreams are strange and it is really helpful to have other people comment on them.. a new and fresh perspective…sometimes I do not know what to make of them.  For example there was the time I dreamt of having a shower but all the while I held a small suitcase in my left hand.  When I opened the suitcase I saw a cute little pink piglet in it.  I then became very concerned over it’s well being.  Then there was the time I was in a canoe on a beautiful lake, as I paddled close to the shore I noticed a huge pile of rocks, the longer I stared at these rocks the more I saw movement, and one by one the rocks stirred and became deer and walked away.  I love dreaming now and wish I was astute at understanding them because I believe that it is my subconscious communicating with me in the only language it uses … the language of symbols.  I have also come to understand that the reason a dream gets so frightening that it wakes you up, is because your subconscious has an important message for you and wants to ensure that you remember it.

I love my bed,  my sleep, and my dreams…. I am glad  have befriended all of these.  Sleep has a huge impact on my mood,  my tolerance, my appetite,  and my feeling of well being..  Eight hours is ideal for me,  seven is doable, but less than 6 and I am operating behind the eight ball… ( I do not know what that really means,  but  think it is not so good ).

And now,  I wish you all a good night and sweet dreams.

1 Comment

May 19, 2015 · 3:11 am

One response to “My Favorite Place to Be.

  1. Really enjoyed your post. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

