Choose to Linger.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Linger.”

clean and clear

Precious is the need to linger…don’t end this moment yet.

To part before the sun does set would lead me to regret.

To miss that flaming orb drop down with colours bright and bold,

I stare and stare, and notice soon the power of it’s hold.

And then to see a babies grin, the sparkle of the eyes

How do I pull myself away from such a giving prize.

Oh, sit atop a mountain peak and feel the vast beyond;

Then stay so long and soon it is your heart that will respond.

Or gaze upon a purple rose and take the fragrance in;

But not enough for then I’ll run the petals on my skin.

Feathers flutter in the bush, a gentle sparrow sits

She keeps me spellbound and I watch until she finally flits.

The many things we linger on when given half a chance,

We might have missed, if we had stopped at just a passing glance.

Leave a comment

May 22, 2015 · 4:09 am

Leave a Reply

