One Thought Follows Another.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “180 Degrees.”

If someone shared something with me and I would later bear witness to a behavior that illustrated the opposite, it would often upset me.  When we meet someone new,, and want to get to know them,  we, no, not we, I should say I,  notice things like that. Does the walk match the talk.  I know I have been both the confuser, and the cofusee when it comes to this issue.  I am guilty of saying one thing and then doing the other.. I am not sure,  but it may come from thinking out loud… sometimes when you hear yourself say something, it is like hearing it for the first time and then you rethink it.

When I was married, years ago, I know that my husband suffered some frustration with my skipping about when making decisions and even when discussing what I believed in;  and then it would change.  I remember realizing one day… OMG.  he is trying to get to know me.. who I am .. Hmm,  isn’t that impossible I thought.  I realized then and there that static seldom exists.  New information is always coming down the pipe.  Ideas,  the world, thoughts, tastes, beliefs, they are in flux,  en route to becoming something else.    In the fifties, new mothers were told not to breast feed,  formula was a wiser choice,  better for the baby.  Really ?   DNA is unchangeable,  well today we are told something different with new discoveries in the lab.  I know I am a work in progress, and reserve the right to another choice.

I have done turn arounds;  I have changed my mind about many things.  Marriage is one of them,  I am no longer hitched.  That was a huge reversal in life style and altered my ideas on relationships and family commitments. I have also learned that adhering to strict ideals is honorable but also not realistic in a changing world and leads to judgement.  It qualifies people and can lead to right and wrong thinking.  What is the point in that.

I understand that we are individuals and all different  We are on a journey of learning what works and what doesn’t in the here and now.  These days,  I accept the changing ways of others,  we are like absorbent sponges that ingest the waves of energy that waft through us and take us on our ups and downs our inspirations,  our aspirations, our inclinations, our destinations, and our deviations.

Let’s enjoy this moment and not put to much expectation on the one to follow.

5 Comments

June 1, 2015 · 3:29 am

5 responses to “One Thought Follows Another.

  1. i have said a thousand times that I don’t know what I think until I say or write it…Too true, too true….J

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is always a pleasure to read your thoughts which you put in your own unique way. Convincing enough, supported well with apt logics.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

