Apples And Oranges.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Turn, Turn, Turn.”

I could not pick a favorite season.  Each one is so different from the other, and they follow each other so beautifully.

I have spent almost all my life in a part of the world that experiences all four seasons very distinctly;  and as one season is coming to a close my internal resonance seems to turn with it.. I am always so eager for the next season and am in some way renewed  when that time comes to go from one mode to another.

Although each season has it’s own impact on me, spring is most exciting to me.  It is a time of year that causes me to witness the tremendous force of life in it’s renewal.  To feel the winds warm, the earth soften,  and the flowers force their buds upward reaching for our almighty sun is a wonder to behold.  I awaken with the spring and experience an enthusiasm for new adventures and a thirst to experience freedom and growth.

With summer life mellows. The heat seems to spread a slow motion on my activity level with a focus on enjoying the feel of sun on my skin and the pleasure of being unencumbered by the layers of clothing I have grown accustomed to wearing. Gardens are planted and soon the magic of harvest will lead us into Autumn.

Fall along with Spring can be very colourful as leaves turn various shades of red, yellow and amber.  Temperatures drop.  I become primed for the upcoming cold and know that I am looking towards the winter months when I will carry my head a little lower no longer reaching upwards but  gazing inwards and reflecting on all the many things that have come to pass.  The earth quiets and a slumber occurs in our colder climates.  Often skies are dark, days are short and we wait for the sun to return it’s heat and light to us so that we might repeat these natural and life giving cycles.

Now that I have written this,  I think of the climate atrocities we are experiencing at present and I read recently that by 2025 most  weather will be geo-engineered.  It would be a shame since these cycles have worked for us for such a very long time.

All I can say is Bless us all ! and I do mean that in a very non denominational kind of way.

Leave a comment

June 17, 2015 · 4:28 am

Leave a Reply

