The Wee Hours of the Morning’

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Golden Hour.”

There is something mystical about waking up at an unusually early time.  Occasionally I will wake at 5:30 or 6 am and know by the level of my alertness that I have had all the sleep my body required.  So,  I am up !.. There is a delicious stillness about.  A quiet that informs me that all the rest of the world is still in a sound slumber and only I tip toe here and there with a clear and sharp mind.  I am primed;  ready for a task that takes all the mental energy of a genie.  A rested mind is a quiet mind.  I have not yet been caffeinated and what I do at such times is go directly to my chair and sit in meditation.

My best meditations take place in the early hours of the morning. Firstly,  I am not rushed. This extra time is mine to use as I wish. I say best,  because it is my judgement that some meditations are better than others.  There are times when I sit and it seems that the entire time my mind is jumping from one subject to another and all I am doing is calling it back to focus on a mantra or my breath.  Other times  it feels that my mind is less rebellious and is happy to sink into a quiet place where there is some sort of open and bright observance taking place, and I am holding focus without trying to.  It is as though there is an effortless concentration taking place and i with a capital I, the One that is witness to all things, the One that is faceless and nameless is present.  Sometimes I can feel the stretch of this energetic I fill the room and the I that thinks about things is embraced to the point that tears gather in my eyes.

There was a time when I did not enjoy the meditations wherein my restless mind bolted from one thought to the other… and gratefully with practice, the mind does quiet and restlessness becomes less and less frequent;  however… no matter how it goes, I always feel better afterwards.  There are times during the day when a stressful situation occurs,  I simply recall the state I was in when meditating and I am able to detach myself from the situation and maintain a even and pleasant internal emotional landscape.

So, early mornings are a treat for me..

In the quiet of 6 am… I boil the water,  prepare for that first cup of tea that tastes so good with a little honey and milk.  Often at this time of year,  I go to the window to watch the dark  of night slowly fade to return to us the light of a waking day that we may be thankful and do unto others as we would have them do unto us.

2 Comments

June 27, 2015 · 3:00 am

2 responses to “The Wee Hours of the Morning’

  1. Joe

    I too, enjoy the “delicious stillness” of the wee hours of the morning. Meditating early in the morning is so much richer. Perhaps it’s because most people in your immediate area are still asleep and the collective consciousness is at a low? Have you ever encountered being respectively woken up at a certain time? I went through a period where I woke up at exactly 3:33 every morning.

    Like

  2. Love it!
    This morning got the body out of bed and outside to witness the sun “appear to rise” and looked at the clock…4:43 am!
    Stillness was speaking and chirping with the early birds and my meditation had begun…all by itself…without “me”.
    I have come to appreciate the stillness that’s always in the background no matter what “seems” to be happening in the Movie.
    And the still acknowledgement that I am never separate from IT.
    Thank You S !

    Like

Leave a Reply

